I Have A Confession…

13 Oct

I cheated at McDonald’s Monopoly.

Yes, you read that right.

Though I’m not 100% sure that you can consider what I did to be cheating at the game as much as it was just cheating the system, I still cheated in someway.

Let me start by saying that I’m not a McDonald’s person…by any means. Of course I stop there for a soda or a sweet tea on the go every now and then, and their fries are delicious, but that’s one of the reasons why I typically stay away from the restaurant. It’s just less tempting if you keep your distance, ya know? Anyways, there comes a time, once a year, that I don’t stay away from McDonald’s. It is a magical time in the United States where the fat get fatter and the thin get thicker all for money.

No, the Biggest Loser is not having a spinoff show called the Biggest Winner…McDonald’s Monopoly is back.

It’s a fun time of year, but it is also tricky seeing as you want to maximize your game piece intake, but not your calorie intake. This is usually not a problem seeing as I can get a medium Diet Coke and receive 2 game pieces, but that was back when every item had just 2 pieces. Well, this year, everything has changed, for a large french fries now has 4 pieces. FOUR PIECES. Knowing this, I couldn’t simply get 2 sodas, that’s silly! Why not get one large fries AND a soda…that’s 6 pieces! Genius!

So, I went to McDonald’s to get my first batch of Micky D’s fries in like, forever, along with a Diet Coke. I got my 6 game pieces…I was happy. Then, I saw it…I saw the one itzy bitzy thing that changed everything–a tiny fly. Yes, there was a fly on one of my fries. I then sat there for 5 minutes trying to decide what to do as I had many options to choose from. I decided to bring the fly to the manager’s attention to get a new batch, but not before I peeled off the 4 game pieces. So now, game pieces in my possession, I returned the fries, got a whole new batch AND 4 more game pieces bringing my total game piece intake for the day to 10. TEN.

I am a genius.

I am also going to hell.

2 Responses to “I Have A Confession…”

  1. Haley P October 14, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    Hey My name is Haley (not to be creepy or anything) but I have been reading your blog and you seem like a really talented writer! I saw that you work at WB and I am hoping to get an internship or job there this summer and I was wondering if you had any advice on how to do that or anything. Again, I know this is random but I’m really just trying to get advice and network. If there is any way you can help I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks!
    -Haley

    • aditk October 15, 2010 at 3:08 am #

      Hey Haley-
      First off, thanks for being a fan and frequent reader. I appreciate you maintaining the attention span to allow my crazy stories and rants to occupy your mind every now and again. It’s great that you want to get an internship with WB. I work on the lot, but I don’t work for WB. I actually work for Conan which is going to be filmed on the WB lot. My advice to you is this, 3-4 months before you want to begin your internship, start logging onto websites of the companies/studios in which you would like to intern with and see if there is any information you can find. If you can find the number for human resources, that’s great, but some sites have links to apply for jobs or internships, so that would be your best bet. Otherwise, I would suggest Entertainmentcareers.net which is where I found my Conan internship. Hundreds of internships and jobs are posted there every week and every semester. Definitely check it out and continue to stop by my blog! Tell all your friends!
      -A Ditk

Leave a Reply

