What I Would Do

2 Oct

Today I was asked the question “If you had only one day to live, what would you do?” Now, I’m the type of person who prides herself in having an answer for every question as I have a quick tongue, but oddly enough I had no idea how to answer the question. I ended up answering that I would write my entire autobiography and instruct someone to try and sell it the next day, along with eating sushi and sharing time with friends and family. Honestly, though, I really have no clue what I would do, not to mention, I don’t think I’d even like to think about what I’d want to do. Of course I worry about dying just as much as the next girl, but it’s not something that occupies my entire mental capacity. I’m beginning to think that if I only had one day to live that I wouldn’t want to know about it because then I’d spend the entire day freaking out and crying that tomorrow would never come for me. I would also try to cram too much into one day and end up exhausting myself.

It’s definitely one of the hardest questions I’ve been asked, aside from questions on various state exams and the SATs, and I suppose it just took me for surprise and caught me off guard. I’m just going to keep on living, and if it ever happens that I am informed of only having a few days, weeks, months or years to live, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there. What would you do if you only had one day to live?

Leave a Reply

