A Necessary Trip

22 Feb

We all have one–a life list. A long list of things we want to do in life before we ultimately leave this world. Now, I know I’m young and I certainly don’t plan on deceasing anytime soon, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a list of my own. I have divided my list into sections, and have decided to tackle them one at a time. My first section was a list of restaurants/establishments I want to visit/eat at mainly because I keep seeing commercials for them, but there are no locations in my immediate living area. I have been making my way through the list, slowly but surely, visiting places such as Dairy Queen and Red Robin, but there was one place that I just couldn’t seem to find–Sonic. Finally, I decided enough was enough, and I needed to find a Sonic. Fortunately, I found a few friends who felt exactly the same, and I went onto their website to locate the nearest location. We found one 63 miles away from school–about a one hour trip by car. So, at 8:30 last night, 5 of us got into my car and we drove off, finally on our way to Sonic. Once we arrived, it was like the shiny gates of heaven opened. We pulled into a drive-in spot, and stared at the illuminated menu for 15 minutes before even grasping the fact that we’d eventually have to speak up and order something. We all decided on what to eat, pressed the button, and away we went. Moments later, we had rang up a $52 bill. About 10 minutes later, the food arrived in a massive, paper shopping bag and I distributed the food. We all ripped through our meals in a delightful, delicious manner. I was expecting typical fast food, but no, this wasn’t your typical burger and fries–this was INTENSE! It was perhaps the most amazing fast food I have ever tasted. Taco Bell doesn’t even hold a candle to Sonic–I’m serious! After we finished eating, we all found ourselves in a food coma, and knew it was time to get on the road again and head back to school. Another hour in the car, and we were back home with a good memory, a great story, and deliciousness lingering on our taste buds. Despite Sonic’s goodness, I think I’ll be full for the next 2 weeks, and definitely no more fast food for me. Until the next random road trip!

-A ditk

One Response to “A Necessary Trip”

  1. David February 23, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    More French fries???

Leave a Reply

