The Ugly Truth

25 Jul

     The Ugly TruthSo, as you may have concluded from the title, I went to go see “The Ugly Truth” tonight, and all I have to say is “eh”. It wasn’t bad by any means, but it also wasn’t amazing. There were plenty of laughs, a lot of laughs actually, and some semi-awkward moments, and Gerard Butler is certainly nice to look at in cinemascope for 2 hours. The film was of course semi-predictable, wait, no, it was 100% predictable, but most movies are this day and age, sooooo I wasn’t surprised when I guessed how the movie ended up when I first saw previews for it months ago. All of my reviews aside, one thing the movie definitely had was the ability to make me feel like crap. I now realize all the things that are wrong with me, and I guess the movie also pointed out many things wrong with men as well. As soon as the screen went black, the credits started rolling, and Flo Rida’s “Right Round” started blasting, all I wanted to do was hit the gym and consume nothing but water and vegetables for the rest of my life. But do I listen to what I get out of  a movie? Because after all, it is just a movie. I mean I’m sure some research was done, but I’m sure the movie was also written by a guy so that’s enough research right there in his pants. All in all, the ugly truth is that I am still single, and so are tons of other women, and men alike, because of the shallow state of humans today. The film openly joked about how women have a checklist in their heads of the criteria a man must meet before they pursue them, and that men won’t talk to you unless you’re pretty much carved from stone. What I would like to know is how long is it going to take for everyone to realize that if this shallowness ensues, everyone will eventually end up alone? I hope not long, because I need to start dating, sheesh, I’m getting old.

If you care…I give the movie 3/5 stars. It was semi-refreshing…minus the feeling like crap part, but don’t let my feelings get in the way because we’re all different, obviously.

Leave a Reply

